SIGMOD Santiago, Chile, 2024

SIGMOD 2024: Awards

SIGMOD Research Track Best Papers

Best Paper

Implementation Strategies for Views over Property Graphs

Soonbo Han (University of Pennsylvania) and Zack Ives (University of Pennsylvania)

Honorable Mentions

Best paper award selection committee: Ashraf Aboulnaga, Gautam Das, Jignesh Patel, Sudeepa Roy

SIGMOD Industry Track Best Paper

PolarDB-MP: A Multi-Primary Cloud-Native Database via Disaggregated Shared Memory

Xinjun Yang (Alibaba Group), Yingqiang Zhang (Alibaba Group), Hao Chen (Alibaba Group), Feifei Li (Alibaba Group), Bo Wang (Alibaba Group), Jing Fang (Alibaba Group), Chuan Sun (Alibaba Group), Yuhui Wang (Alibaba Group)

SIGMOD Research Highlight Award

From conferences held in 2023:

Research highlight award selection committee: Angela Bonifati, Rada Chirkova, Alfons Kemper, Sam Madden, Ken Ross (chair), Yufei Tao

SIGMOD Research Track Best Papers

For a SIGMOD 2023 paper:

Best Artifact

InfiniFilter: Expanding Filters to Infinity and Beyond

Niv Dayan, Ioana Bercea, Pedro Reviriego, and Rasmus Pagh

Honorable Mentions

Best paper award selection committee: Ashraf Aboulnaga, Gautam Das, Jignesh Patel, Sudeepa Roy

SIGMOD Programming Contest


Alaya: Long Xiang (Southern University of Science and Technology), Bowen Zeng (Zhejiang University) Yu Lei (Zhejiang University) Yujun He (Southern University of Science and Technology) Weijian Chen (Southern University of Science and Technology) Yitao Zheng (Southern University of Science and Technology) Yanqi Chen (Southern University of Science and Technology)


Wahaha: Jie-Feng Wang (Xiamen University).

Jim Gray Doctoral Dissertation Award


Daniel Kang (UIUC)
Efficient and accurate systems for querying unstructured data


Dissertation award selection committee: Gustavo Alonso (chair), Evaggelia Pitoura (vice chair), Huanchen Zhang, Supun Nakandala, Xiaofang Zhou, Fatma Ozcan, Angela Bonifati, Zsolt István.

SIGMOD Systems Award

Apache SINGA: A Distributed Deep Learning System.

For the development of a distributed, efficient, scalable, and easy-to-use deep learning platform for large scale data analytics.

Contributors: Zhaojing Luo, Beng Chin Ooi, Wei Wang, Meihui Zhang, Qingchao Cai, Shaofeng Cai, Gang Chen, Tien Tuan Anh Dinh, Jinyang Gao, Qian Lin, Shicong Lin, Kee Yuan Ngiam, Gene Yan Ooi, Moaz Reyad, Kian-Lee Tan, Anthony K. H. Tung, Sheng Wang, Yuncheng Wu, Zhongle Xie, Naili Xing, Rulin Xing, Wanqi Xue, Sai Ho Yeung, James Yip, Lingze Zeng, Zhaoqi Zhang, Kaiping Zheng, Lei Zhu, Ji Wang.

SIGMOD Contributions Award

Sihem Amer-Yahia (CNRS, Univ. Grenoble Alpes): for her contributions towards diversity, equity, and inclusion in the professional database research community.

Sihem Amer-Yahia is a 2020 Silver Medal CNRS Research Director and Deputy Director of the Lab of Informatics of Grenoble in France. She works on exploratory data analysis and algorithmic upskilling. Sihem was Principal Scientist at QCRI, Senior Scientist at Yahoo! Research and Member of Technical Staff at AT&T Labs. She served as PC chair for SIGMOD 2023 and as the coordinator of the Diversity, Equity and Inclusion initiative for the database community from 2021 to 2023. Sihem received the 2024 IEEE TCDE Impact Award for contributions to laying the interdisciplinary data engineering foundations of social computing and crowdsourcing.

SIGMOD Test-of-Time Award

PrivBayes: Private Data Release via Bayesian Networks

Jun Zhang, Graham Cormode, Cecilia M. Procopiuc, Divesh Srivastava, Xiaokui Xiao

For the paper from the SIGMOD proceedings 10-12 years prior that has had the most impact over the intervening decade. In particular, this paper had a widespread impact in the area of synthetic data generation, in the data management community and beyond.

Edgar F Codd Innovations Award

Samuel Madden (MIT): for his wide ranging contributions to multiple aspects of data management, including column- oriented database systems, high performance transaction processing, and systems for mobile and sensor data.

Samuel Madden is a College of Computing Distinguished Professor of Computing at MIT. His research projects include learned database systems, the C-Store column-oriented database system, and the CarTel mobile sensor network system. Madden heads the Data Systems Group at MIT and the Data Science and AI Lab (DSAIL), an industry supported collaboration focused on developing systems that use AI and machine learning. Madden was named one of Technology Review's Top 35 Under 35 in 2005 and an ACM Fellow in 2020, and is the recipient of several awards, including an NSF CAREER award, a Sloan Foundation Fellowship, and "test of time" awards from VLDB, SIGMOD, SIGMOBILE, and SenSys. His work has had significant industrial impact, particularly through startups, including as a co-founder of Vertica Inc., and as the co-founder and Chief Scientist at Cambridge Mobile Telematics, which develops technology used by millions of people to make roads safer and drivers better.

SIGMOD Distinguished AEs

SIGMOD Distinguished PCs

SIGMOD Best Demonstration Award

Best Demo



Follow our progress: FacebookTwitter